June 3, 2010

I’m a #SQLU Faculty Member!

Posted in Learning, SQL Server, SQL University at 10:00 am by David Taylor

I read a blog today, about blogging, and one of the takeaways I got was that spending words apologizing for not blogging (or not blogging often enough) is a waste of your time and mine, so I will stop wasting your time.

This blog’s about learning and it’s about SQL and about learning SQL. They say the best way to learn is by teaching (See Buck Woody’s post about this). In that vein, I have taken on a teaching position. Maybe a small one, in the larger realm of things, but you gotta start somewhere.

I will be taking a week of lessons as a faculty member of good old #SQLU, SQL University, that awesomeness created by Jorge Segarra, better known in the Twitter world as @sqlchicken. My week will be all about Database Design, and, if you saw the databases I manage, you would cry, but it’s been a great learning opportunity, so I feel qualified.

So if you haven’t been following #SQLU, get over there and get your learn on! This semester has had some of the greats of the SQL World, with subjects so far covering Documentation, Professional Development, Security and Auditing, Tools of the Trade, SSIS Design and Development, PowerShell, Parallelism and Testing and Refactoring. Some heady subjects, lots to learn. And don’t forget to also get over to Thomas Larock’s (@SQLRockstar on Twitter) blog for the weekly Basketball practices, where he teaches you to use the knowledge you are gaining.

I look forward to serving you, the students of #SQLU, and working with the Faculty already in place. And maybe I’ll even get me a #SQLU Faculty Member Tee shirt to go along with my #SQLU Alumni shirt!

2 Comments »

  1. Janice Lee said,

    David, I’m excited to see you teach! Really looking forward to it.

    Btw, please blog more often. 🙂 I’m one of those who notice when you don’t.

    • David Taylor said,

      Janice,

      Thank you so much for your kind words!

      I know, I am bad at keeping this updated. I can claim work, single father, work, work on house, work, all kinds of excuses, but in the end, none of them are truly valid. I must make time to get here more often!

      I am currently getting my posts together for my teaching gig with #SQLU, but am making a personal committment to put *something* here at least once a week thereafter!

      Thanks for the encouragement!


Leave a comment