August 11, 2016

SSIS troubles

Posted in SQL Server, SSIS at 1:36 pm by David Taylor

I have an SSIS 2008 R2 package that, for three days in a row, 8/9, 8/10, 8/11 of 2016, has given me the following error:

Error 0xC0011008. Failed to load the package “<Package Name>” from SQL Server “localhost”. Make sure the package exist on the SQL Server and you have the correct credential to access it.

Error 0xC0011008 while preparing to load the package. Error loading from XML. No further detailed error information can be specified for this problem because no Events object was passed where detailed error information can be stored.

This package has been running for well over a year without issue, and nothing has changed, that I know of. It runs under my account, which has admin privileges. When I run the Control package that calls this package, either from BIDS or from a separate SQL Agent job that just calls this package, it runs fine. It’s just in the overnight run that I get this error.

Prior to 8/9/16, this has run without error for well over a year, as I said earlier.

There are no entries in the Event log, which makes sense as the error line states that there wasn’t.

Can anyone help me with this?

 

4 Comments »

  1. SQLSoldier said,

    What else is running on the server? To me, it seems like the kind of error you would get if the server was under extreme stress on some resource (memory, CPU, etc.).

    • David Taylor said,

      You raise a really good point, this is a very underpowered server. It’s our Test box, only 8gigs of ram, virtual machine (VMware). It’s nearly identical to our Dev box, though, and, as I said, nothing has changed recently. The only thing I can think of at this point is what else ion the host? I’ll have to get with our virtual team.

      To answer your question, though, the box runs both SQL Server and SSIS, ETLing data from one database on the box into a Data Warehouse on the same box.

      Is there something I can look into, DMV or Perfmon, that I can bring to other teams that can help prove it’s under extreme enough load to cause this? I have tried before, showing load times increasing and paging going through the roof, and they throw back at me average CPU and memory usages in the 20 percent range, but this ETL process only runs from midnight to about 4am, the rest of the day the server is just about idle. Any direction you can point me in would be greatly appreciated.

      David Taylor Learn Relentlessly Sent from my phone

      On Aug 11, 2016 4:28 PM, “MERGE Learning AS Target USING SQL” wrote:

  2. SQLSoldier said,

    How is the overnight job running it? What version of SQL Server? Is it stored in msdb, SSISDB, or the file system? Is UAC *user access control) enabled?

    • David Taylor said,

      Sorry to not have these details, it’s been a hell of a day!

      Package is in msdb. Overnight job is running from SQL Agent, which calls a control package which calls this package. SQL is 2008 R2. UAC *shouldn’t* be enabled, but I can’t check that now until tomorrow. In any case, nothing has changed on the server, that I know of, between when it was running fine and when I started getting errors.

      Thanks so much!

      David Taylor Learn Relentlessly Sent from my phone

      On Aug 11, 2016 4:18 PM, “MERGE Learning AS Target USING SQL” wrote:


Leave a Reply

