April 25, 2011

Learning Virtualization for #sqlserver

Posted in Learning at 8:19 am by David Taylor

I have been learning a lot lately, both SQL Server and .NET, and today I’d like to tell you a little about what I’ve learned on the SQL Server side.

I took a Microsoft eLearning course this weekend, called Introduction to Virtualization of Microsoft SQL Server (Retired). I don’t know why it’s retired, I was able to take it, and it seems very current, working with Microsoft Server 2008 R2 and SQL Server R2. If it weren’t retired I could give you a link, but you can find similar courses at this link. I don’t have virtualization at my current place of employ, but have been threatened with it 🙂 I thought it prudent to learn, and, as this course is only a two hour introduction, I thought it would be good to take it.

The course focuses on Hyper-V as the virtualization solution, and goes to great lengths demonstrating how to install and set up the host and guest machines, getting them networked and clustered, then demonstrating getting SQL Server installed as a pair of nodes on a cluster.

The course describes both clustering two SQL Servers on one host, and also clustering two physical machines, each with a virtual machine with SQL Server on it, all of them clustered. This seems like a great HA (High Availability) solution, as there is multiple redundancies going on. Maybe even better with two VMs on each machine, but the course didn’t cover that.

Another thing the course didn’t cover (because it was from Microsoft, I’m sure) was other Virtual machine solutions, such as VMWare, and VirtualBox. I’ve never dealt with VMWare myself, but I do have VirtualBox, and I am going to be playing around with clustering SQL Server on it, and see about making my own Highly Available Cluster.

Update: Funny how things work out sometimes! Looking through Twitter this afternoon, I saw that @MSLearning put out a tweet about VMWare learning! I’m going through the videos as soon as I have a spare moment, you can check them out here –> Technet Edge Categories

Leave a Reply

