June 25, 2010

SQL Community; PASS Call for Nominations; Exceptional DBA;

Posted in SQL Community at 10:00 am by David Taylor

I am a person of many hats. I am, first and foremost, a father; I am a Quality System Analyst at work; I am a woodworker by hobby; I am a SQL Server DBA / Developer. I am also a member of the SQL Community. I have found that community a terrific group to be a part of. I have made many friends through the community; I have gotten the opportunity to present at a SQL Saturday, I have gotten help through the #sqlhelp tag on Twitter, I am and, if I play my cards right, trust to luck but be sure to cast out my nets (points if you get the reference!) I will soon have a new career simply because I am part of this community. All of these things are of immense benefit, freely given by everyone in the community, and all this and more are available to any who find themselves a part of this community.

But what I feel is the largest and best benefit of being part of this great group of people is the many and varied ways we can all give back to the community. In my last blog post, I mentioned one way I am giving back; I get to be part of the faculty of SQL University. That’s a great honor. Another, ongoing way I give back, and I am not sure how many know this, but I am a Professional Association for SQL Server (PASS) Virtual Chapter Volunteer. I am the Volunteer Coordinator for the Application Development VC. In this capacity, I moderate the LiveMeetings twice a month, and in between work with the team of volunteers that really make the VC great, Speaker Coordinator John Jakubowski (Blog | Twitter), Marketing Coordinator Aaron Nelson (Blog | Twitter),  and Website Volunteer Eric Humphrey (Blog | Twitter).

My blog post today is from the standpoint of a PASS Volunteer. I think if you are part of the SQL Community, you should also be a Member of PASS. If you’re not, go to sqlpass.org right now and sign up – go on, I’ll wait… It’s free; they have terrific learning resources, and are associated with the best in the business. If you’re a member of PASS (and I’m sure that if you weren’t a few minutes ago you are now, right?) then you should take an interest in the governance of PASS. You can read the Board minutes, what the Board is planning, all kinds of great info on their Governance page (login required – I *told* you to sign up, didn’t I?). Further, you should take an interest in who is on that Board.

That is the subject of the first part of my post today. I received an email today that started “The 2010 PASS elections process kicked off this week with the Call for Nominations” asking the email recipients to help get the word out, through emailing, blogging, Tweeting ( hashtag #passvotes), etc. Now, I am seriously as apolitical as they come, so you know I’m not writing this to toe any party line or whatever other clichés any arm chair politicos spout from their La-Z-Boys during the evening news. PASS is something I believe in, wholeheartedly. I can honestly say that my life has gotten better and easier since I have been a member of both PASS and the SQL Community. I feel good asking you to go to http://elections.sqlpass.org to find out more and see what you can do.

Let me paste a couple of paragraphs from that email, this is interesting stuff…

If you’re considering running for the Board, we strongly urge you to apply. The more applications we receive, the better the elections process will run. More importantly, though, PASS would like to see its most talented members in leadership positions. If you think you or someone you know is an ideal candidate, please review what it takes to be a Director, download the application and apply before the July 21 deadline. Click here for other important dates.

As a PASS Director, you would be responsible for the day-to-day activities of the organization, as well as setting the course for the organization on short- and long-term decisions. The primary directive of the Board is to focus on the key strategic issues of the SQL Server community by providing members with opportunities to advance their technical and professional skills, network at the local and international levels, and interact with the industry’s most accomplished users and experts.

You can read more and stay up to date on the elections process at http://elections.sqlpass.org. Please feel free to keep in touch with the Elections team at HQ (consisting of Johannes Bezuidenhout, Governance and Web Content Coordinator and Nancy Nasso, PASS Community Coordinator). You can also voice your opinions via Twitter (#passvotes) or visit the elections discussion forums at http://elections.sqlpass.org (to be launched in early July).

Thanks in advance for staying involved. PASS couldn’t run without your dedication and support!

The second part of my blog post today I would like to spend pimping promoting some of the folks I have met since being in the community, and tout up the great job they have been doing. Yes, I am talking about the Exceptional DBA Award finalists that were announced yesterday. Go on over to http://www.exceptionaldba.com/ and check out the finalists. I can honestly say I have had the honor of actually meeting two of them, and have been blessed and honored to be called friend by at least one of them. All six are terrific in their own right. Check out the site, read their bios, then go and read their blogs, you’ll see all of them deserve the right to be called Exceptional DBAs. And when you’re done reading, VOTE!

This is such a big deal that it was picked up by big news organizations! Check out what CNBC has to say about it on their site… http://www.cnbc.com/id/37868062.

And with that I am going to go put on one of my other hats, and get back to work. Thanks for reading, and see you next week in class at #SQLU!

Leave a Reply

